The incomprehensible

For many years a hobby of mine has been studying a foreign language. Unfortunately it seems I am not very good at languages. I can refer to basic notes and construct simple sentences, in fact copying patterns, and this has shown to me I have no comprehension of the workings of grammar. On reflection, I wonder what then is my use of my native language? It seems, doesn’t it, in everyday life, I am thinking and informed, going about my life. Yet in practice I have poor language comprehension. The thoughts are not with any understanding of what I am thinking. Put it another way, the thoughts are not an application for my direction, it is language in concert with my actions, complying with the direction I am experiencing. That is, the thoughts are not fundamentally the motive, there is a deeper activity, like desire, pleasure, deeper than thought. Then I might ask, other than just words, what is this deeper activity? Or is it simply an incomprehensible movement?

Habit? Does this address both the use of native and difficulty of the new?

Incomprehensibility, not knowing, at a loss, something like that, even guessing doesn’t happen.

Peter,

I admit that I find it difficult to understand some of what you say. At the same time, I feel that I understand what you mean by “the thoughts are not with any understanding of what I am thinking”. I could be altogether mistaken.

To me, the problem here is not poor language comprehension. It is not a question of finding or putting together the right words, explanations or analyses. As I see it, it is not language that is not understood. The challenge, if I may call it that, is not to find the “right” language which can perfectly express what I’m feeling. Words can be used as pointers — but words cannot “produce” clarity or understanding where there is confusion and darkness.