Experiences in Dialogue

I am new to Kinfonet and the Saturday dialogues. I feel grateful for the opportunity to join and look forward to being part of such a lively and passionate group.

Much discussion on dialogue occurred yesterday. The discussion moved me to share two recent experiences that color my feelings on dialogue. I stress that these are my personal experiences.

I attended a TAT Foundation intensive two weeks ago where a speaker took participants through an exercise. He asked us to think about the question “Why am I here?” but not in a normal way. We were to imagine sitting in a theater, observing ourselves on the screen thinking about the question. He repeated the question, “Why are you here”? I sat quietly a few minutes observing myself think out the question. The speaker asked the same question a few different ways followed by a period of silence. As I observed the theater screen, something moved deeply in my body. I was observing my image shape and reshape an answer to a question it may be called upon to talk about. It was mind blowing. In the middle of this exercise, a deep sensation of observing arose. Something else happened too. It was as if I was bombarded with awareness of the image “Matt” in a thousand past situations all at once. I have never had such an experience and it stunned me for the rest of the day.