A beginner’s mind

Simple, ordinary, everyday awareness seems to be at the heart of what Krishnamurti taught, and yet it is so easy to forget this because of all the dimensions of what he had to say about consciousness, thought, the self, time, the observer, etc. It’s as though one misses the forest for the trees.

The phrase ‘a beginner’s mind’ is not Krishnamurti’s (though it might as well have been). It comes from a Zen word - shoshin - which means to approach things as though for the first time, to be open, to perceive the world afresh, as though one were a complete beginner.

To be be aware with a beginner’s mind one must put aside everything that one has been taught, all one’s previous experiences and knowledge, and perceive anew, be perceptually aware anew, of one’s inner and outer world in its perceptual immediacy.

There is no argument in this. There is no conclusion to be reached. There is no goal to attain. There is no need to categorise or reduce what is there to be seen or perceived. One is simply aware, or not aware. That’s all.

There are no winners or losers, no comparisons to be made, no experts or people who ‘know’ - whether the expert be oneself or another. There is just what is actually taking place in the present moment, and one’s natural ability as a human being to be aware of what is taking place in the present moment.

This is the simplest approach I can think of. Yet it has the potential, I feel, to include everything that Krishnamurti spoke about.

2 Likes

Why do you believe that K is a Buddha?

He might or might not be. I am open to both the possibilities. Are you?

You might believe that he is a Buddha because he might have affected your consciousness deeply. Yes, he did affect me too. But, it doesn’t mean he must have been transformed. He might have some Conditionings left in his contents of consciousness to be aware of.